International Philosophical Symposium: METAPHYSICS, LANGUAGE, AND MORALITY

December 1-3, 2010 (Zagreb, Croatia)


Society for Advancement of Philosophy, in cooperation with the University of Zagreb – Center for Croatian Studies, is pleased to announce the international philosophical symposium “Metaphysics, Language, and Morality”. The symposium will be held from December 1 to December 3 2010 at the Borongaj Campus of the University of Zagreb. The official language of the symposium is English.

In organizing the conference the organizers were motivated by the latest translations into Croatian language of three seminal philosophical titles which have attracted much attention of the philosophical community: Metaphysics by Michael J. Loux, Philosophy of Language by William Lycan, and Moral Vision by David McNaughton. Accordingly, the symposium will be focused on three prominent fields of analytic philosophy: metaphysics, philosophy of language, and ethics. However, this does not exclude relevant contributions from other areas of contemporary philosophical thought.

All potential participants are encouraged to fill in the application form and send it to the organizing committee [] not later than October 31, 2010. Oral presentations should not exceed 20 minute time-limit, and will be followed by a 10 minute discussion.

To all participants whose contributions are accepted for oral presentation the organizers guarantee free accommodation in a three-star hotel (breakfast included), transport from hotel to campus and back, as well as lunch and refreshments during the symposium. Travel costs are not included in this arrangement!

Selected peer-reviewed contributions from the symposium are planned to occur in Prolegomena, international philosophical journal published by the Society for Advancement of Philosophy and the University of Zagreb – Center for Croatian Studies.

For any further information the potential participants are encouraged to write directly to the organizers []. They should also feel free to forward this invitation letter to anybody interested in contributing to the conference, either actively or passively.

For the Organizing Committee:

Dusan Dozudic, Chairman
Karolina Kudlek, Secretary

Organizing Committee

Tomislav Bracanovic, Zvonimir Culjak, Dusan Dozudić (Chairman),
Tomislav Janovic, Karolina Kudlek (Secretary), Lovorka Madjarevic,
Dragana Sekulic, Josip Talanga